Ready for some interesting facts about South America?

  1. Countries: There are 13 countries in South America.
    Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela.
  2. Land size: South America is the fourth largest continent by size, coming in at a cool 17,840,000 square kilometres.
  3. Population: South America has the fifth largest population per continent, with over 423 million inhabitants.
  4. Largest Country: Brazil is the largest country in South America and it takes up almost 50% of the total South American landmass!
  5. Smallest Country: Suriname is the smallest country in South America and it does not even take up 1% of the total landmass.
  6. Largest City: Sao Paulo is the largest city with over 21 million people.
  7. UNESCO sites: There are 80 UNESCO World Heritage sites in 11 countries.
  8. Highest Mountain: Aconcagua, nestled in the Andes mountain range is the highest mountain in South America. It sits in the Mendoza Province, Argentina.
  9. Largest Desert: The Atacama Desert in Chile is the largest desert in South America.
  10. Largest River: The Amazon is the largest river in the world based on the amount of water that is discharged. It is also the second-longest river in the world.
  11. Largest Lake: Lake Titicaca, which crosses the countries of Bolivia and Peru, is the largest lake in South America.
  12. Largest Waterfall: Angel Falls in Venezuela is the tallest waterfall in the world.

Explore South America further by choosing one of these countries:

Visit Argentina and Buenos Aires